EuroSEAS Board members

The Association is governed by a Board, of 19 members supported by a Secretary and Treasurer. The current president (2017-2020) is professor Silvia Vignato from the Università di Milano-Bicocca, Italy. The Secretary is Dr. Sikko Visscher at the Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV) in Leiden.

Prof.dr. Silvia Vignato
Associate Professor in anthropology
The Department of Human Science for education “Riccardo Massa”
Università di Milano-Bicocca (UNIMIB)
Milan, Italy

Dr. Stéphen Huard – Host EuroSEAS conference 2022
Research and Teaching Fellow
Ecoles des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales Centre Asie du Sud-Est Paris
Representing: France

Secretary & Treasurer
Dr. Sikko Visscher
KITLV / Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies
Leiden, The Netherlands

Board members
Prof. Dr. Christoph Antweiler
University of Bonn
Institute of Oriental and Asian Studies (IOA)
Department of Southeast Asian Studies
Bonn, Germany
Representing: Germany

Dr. Laurens Bakker
Department of Anthropology
University of Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Representing: Benelux

Prof.dr. Bart Barendregt
Associate Professor
Leiden Institute of Cultural Anthropology and Development Sociology
Leiden University
Leiden, The Netherlands
Representing: Benelux

Prof. dr. Alberto Fidalgo Castro
Assistant Professor in Social Anthropology
Department of Social Anthropology and Social Psychology
Universidad Complutense de Madrid (UCM)
Madrid, Spain
Representing: Spain

Prof.dr. Nina Grigoreva
Higher School of Economics
St. Petersburg School of Social Sciences and Humanities
Department of Asian and African Studies
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Representing: Russia

Prof.dr. Vincent Houben – Host EuroSEAS conference 2019
Humboldt-Universität, Berlin
Kultur-, Sozial- und Bildungswissenschaftliche Fakultät
Institut für Asien- und Afrikawissenschaften
Southeast Asian History and Society
Berlin, Germany
Representing: Germany

Dr. Filip Kraus
Palacký University – Host EuroSEAS conference 2021
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Representing: Central Europe

Dayana Lengauer, PhD
Austrian Academy of Sciences
Institute for Social Anthropology (ISA)
Representing: Central Europe

Dr. Deirdre McKay
Department of  Social Geography and Environmental Politics
Keel University
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Representing: United Kingdom

Dr. Astrid Norén-Nilsson
Centre for East and South-East Asian Studies
Lund University
Lund, Sweden
Representing: Nordics, Sweden

Dr. Laurie Parsons
Royal Holloway, University of London
Geopolitics, Development, Security and Justice Group
Department of Geography
United Kingdom
Representing: United Kingdom

Dr. Zélia Pereira
Centre for Social Studies
Universidade de Coimbra
Representing: Portugal

Dr. Edyta Roszko
Chr. Michelsen Institute (CMI)
Bergen, Norway
Representing: Nordics, Norway

Dr. Antonia Soriente
Associate Professor of Indonesian language and literature
Department of Asia, Africa and Mediterranean
University of Naples ‘L’Orientale’ (UNIOR)
Naples, Italy
Representing: Italy, Greece

Dr. Paul Sorrentino – Host EuroSEAS conference 2022
Centre Asie du Sud-Est (Ehess/Cnrs/Inalco)
Paris, France
Representing: France

Dr. Giacomo Tabacco
University of Milano-Bicocca
Milan, Italy
Representing: Italy, Greece

Dr. Anton Zakharov
Institute of Oriental Studies
Russian Academy of Sciences
Moscow, Russia
Representing: Russia

EuroSEAS secretariat in Leiden
Yayah Siegers-Samaniri, MA
Supporting staff & Communication
KITLV/Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies