EuroSEAS Book Prize 2024

EuroSEAS will award two book prizes at the 13th EuroSEAS conference in Amsterdam, The Netherlands, from 23-25 July 2024. Please find the shortlist of the nominated books on the local conference website!

1. The EuroSEAS Humanities Book Prize 
The EuroSEAS Humanities Book Prize for the best academic book on Southeast Asia published in the humanities – including archaeology, art history, history, literature, performing arts and religious studies.
2. The EuroSEAS Social Science Book Prize
The EuroSEAS Social Science Book Prize for the best academic book on Southeast Asia published in the social sciences – including anthropology, economics, law, politics and international relations, and sociology
A shortlist of six books in each category will be announced on the EuroSEAS website in early July 2024. Announcement of the winners will be during the conference in 2024. The winners will receive the book prize certificate and € 750. Please find the shortlists here!
• Only books written in English carrying a 2022 or 2023 date will be eligible.
• The same book will not be considered for both prizes – please submit to the most applicable category. If in doubt about which category applies, please email
• The prize committees will reserve the right to cross-refer as they find appropriate. Only single-authored or co-authored research monographs are eligible: no edited volumes or textbooks. 
•  Translations of literary works are not eligible.
• There are no residency or citizenship requirements for authors, and no location requirements for publishers.
• Nominations should be made by the publishers of the book. There is no limit to the number of books an individual publisher may nominate.
• The decisions of the judges shall be final.
• Please send an electronic* copy of the books to the EuroSEAS secretariat:
• The EuroSEAS secretariat will sent the electronic copy of the books to the jury members.
*Due to the fact that since 2022 jury members are charged import taxes and administration fees when receiving the books and the practice that some books never arrive at their destination, it was decided that in 2024 only an electronic copy of the book can be submitted.
The closing date for submissions is 15 April 2024.