Call for papers
The European Association for Southeast Asian Studies (EuroSEAS) will hold its 10th conference from 10 to 13 September 2019 at the Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. As an international and multi-disciplinary organisation, EuroSEAS invites scholars and PhD students from all academic disciplines with an interest in Southeast Asia to present a paper in one of the selected panels at the EuroSEAS conference in Berlin.

Accepted panels, roundtables and laboratories
As an international and multi-disciplinary organisation, EuroSEAS has invited scholars and PhD students from all academic disciplines with an interest in Southeast Asia to submit panels that explore relevant research topics from an interdisciplinary perspective as well as discuss theoretical and methodological aspects of research generated in the field of Southeast Asian Studies. These are the selected panels.

-Panels consist of a convener, 3-4 presenters, and if possible, a discussant. Double sessions of max 6 presentations are allowed. We invite panels on a wide range of topics in the social sciences, humanities, economics and law of Southeast Asia. We prefer panels with a geographical comparative approach and panels that cross disciplinary boundaries. We also invite panels on climate change, literature, performing arts, and archaeology – fields that were underrepresented in previous conferences.
Submission format: (1) title, (2) convener, (3) brief description of panel, max ½ page, (4) single session (1 x 90 min.): 3-4 presenters; double session (2 x 90 min.): 6 presenters, (5) optional: discussant.

-Roundtables address current issues and new developments, and consist of a convener and max. 6 participants who prepare brief statements followed by audience discussion. 
Submission format: (1) title, (2) convener, (3) explain in ½ page urgency of topic, (4) max 6 presenters, (5) 1 x 90 min.

-Laboratories are closed meetings for young scholars to develop innovative cross-disciplinary plans. Laboratories run for half a day and consist of a convener and max 8 participants. Towards the end of the conference conveners will present the results of these meetings to a larger audience.  
Submission format: (1) title, (2) convener, (3) explain in ½ page plans for discussion and collaboration, (4) max 8 participants, (5) 2 x 90 min. 

Conference fees
Early bird fee: 200,00 Euros CLOSED
Regular fee: 240,00 Euros
Low income fee: 140,00 Euros (please send an email to for the criteria)

Plus EuroSEAS membership fee (to be paid by all participants) 30,00 Euros.

If you want to participate in a panel, please send your paper abstract directly to the panel conveners before 15 May 2019. Contact details of panel conveners can be found in the list of accepted panels. EuroSEAS will not accept paper proposals that are not part of a panel! If your paper is accepted by a panel convener, your registration and payment have to be effected by 15 July  2019 to be part of the programme. 

Important deadlines
15 May 2019: Deadline submission paper proposals
15 July  2019: Overall registration & payment deadline when organizing a panel and/or presenting a paper.

After 15 July 2019 it is still possible to register and finalize the payment if you wish to join the conference without presenting a paper (spectator). 

General conditions and terms
Click here to read the general conditions and terms for participants of the EuroSEAS conference 2019.

Instructions for online registration
Online registration for the conference has started on 1 February. Carefully read the information here-below prior to starting the online registration:
Instructions for conveners
Instructions for presenters
Instructions for spectators

Membership EuroSEAS
Participants of the EuroSEAS conferences are automatically member of EuroSEAS until the next conference. It is also possible to become a member without visiting the conference. The membership fee is € 30 (for two years). For more information, please send an email to:

Privacy statement EuroSEAS

Previous conferences
Oxford 2017
Vienna 2015
Lisbon 2013
Gothenburg 2010
Naples 2007 
Paris 2004 
London 2001
Hamburg 1998 
Leiden 1995